List of Vice Presidents of India -PDF Download

The Vice President occupies the 2nd highest office in the country after President. The office of Vice-President of India modeled on the lines of America Vice President.

Article 63 of Indian Constitution deals with that there shall be a vice President of India.

Article 67 of Indian Constitution deals with the Election of Vice- President.

Vice president of India is elected by the members of an electoral college consisting of the members of both House of Parliament.

=> It consists of both elected and nominated members of the parliament.

=> It does not include the members of the State Legislative Assemblies.

Qualification of Vice President

To be eligible for election as Vice President, A person should fulfill the following Qualification.

=> Should be a citizen of India

=> He should have completed 35 years of Age.

=> He should be qualified for election as a member of Rajya Sabha.

=> He should not hold any office of profit under the Union Government or any State Government.

The Oath for the office of Vice President of India is Administered by the President or Some person Appointed by in that behalf by him.

=> Article 69 of Indian Constitution deals with Oath or affirmation by the Vice-president.

Term of Office

=>Article 67 of Indian Constitution deals with the term of office of Vice President.

=>The Vice President of India holds office for the term of five years.

=>He can resign the office at any time by addressing the resignation letter to the President.

=>He can also be removed by the resolution of the Rajya Sabha passed by an Absolute Majority. and agreed to by the Lak Sabha.

=> He may be elected for any number of terms and eligible for the re-election to that office.

Power & Function of Vice President

=> He acts as the ex-officio chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

=> He acts as president when a vacancy occurs in the office of President due to his resignation, removal, death or otherwise, he can act as president only for 6 months within which a new president is elected.

S.No.	President	Took Office	Left Office	Important Points
1.	Saravpalli Radhakrishan	13 th May 1952	12 th May 1962	1 st Vice President of India elected for two
1.	Saravpani Kaunakrishan	15 Way 1952	12 Way 1902	times.
2.	Dr. Zakir Hussain	13 th May 1962	12 th May 1967	President of India to die in Office
3.	V.V.Giri	31 st August 1967	3 rd May 1969	On the death of Zakir Hussain, he became president of India.
4.	Gopal Swarup Pathak	31 st August 1969	30 th August 1974	He was 1 st Indian Vice President not to succeed his superior as president.
5.	Basappa Danappi Jatti	1 st September 1974	25 th July 1979	Founder of "Basava Smithi"(Religious Organisation)
6.	M.Hidayatullah	31 st August 1979	30 th August 1984	11 th Chief Justice of India he served as the President of India after the resignation of V.V.Giri.
7.	R.Venkataraman	31 st August 1984	30 th August 1987	Member of Constituent Assembly and the provisional Cabinet.
8.	Shankar Dayal Sharma	3 rd September 1987	24 th July 1992	CM of Bhopal, member of INC, Communication minister.
9.	K.R.Narayanan	21 st August 1992	24 th July 1997	The best diplomat of Country.
10.	Krishan Kant	21 st August 1997	24 th July 2002	1 st Vice president to die in Office.
11.	Bhairon Singh Shekhawat	18 th August 2002	21 st July 2007	Served CM of Rajasthan three times, Started the "Antyoday Scheme"
12.	M.Hamid Ansari	10 th August 2007	10 th August 2017	He was 1 st person to be re-elected as Vice President of India after S. Radhakrishan.
13.	Venkaih Naidu	11st August 2017	Now	Current Vice President of India.

List of Vice President of India