Name of Minister	From Date to Date
Liaquat Ali Khan	29 October 1946 to 14 August 1947
R.K. Shanmukham Chetty	15 August 1947 to 17 August 1948
John Mathai	22 September 1948 to 1 June 1950
C. D. Deshmukh	1 June to 1 August 1956
Jawaharlal Nehru	1 August 1956 to 30 August 1956
T. T. Krishnamachari	30 August 1956 to 14 February 1958
Jawaharlal Nehru	14 February to 22 March
Morarji Desai	22 March to 31 August 1963
T. T. Krishnamachari	31 August to 31 December 1965
Sachindra Chaudhuri	1 January 1966 to 13 March 1967
Morarji Desai	13 March 1967 to 16 July 1969
Indira Gandhi	16 July 1969 to 27 June 1970
Yashwantrao B. Chavan	27 June 1970to 10 October 1974
Chidambaram Subramaniam	10 October 1974 to 24 March 1977
Haribhai M. Patel	26 March 1977 to 24 January 1979
Charan Singh	24 January 1979 to 16 July 1979
Hemvati Nandan Bahuguna	28 July 1979 to 19 October 1979
R. Venkataraman	14 January 1980 to 15 January 1982
Pranab Mukherjee	15 January 1982 to 31 December
V. P. Singh	31 December 1984 to 24 January 1987
Rajiv Gandhi	24 January 1987 to 25 July 1987
N. D. Tiwari	25 July 1987 to 25 June 1988
Shankarro B. Chavan	25 June to 1988 to 2 December 1989

Madhu Dandavate 5 December 1989 to 10 November

1990

Yashwant Sinha 21 November 1990 to 21 June 1991

Manmohan Singh 21 June 1991 to 16 May 1996

Jaswant Singh 16 May 1996 to 1 June 1996

P. Chidambaram 1 June 1996 to 21 April 1997

I.K Gujral 21 April 1997 to 1 May 1997

P. Chidambaram 1 May 1947 to 19 March 1998

Yashwant Sinha 19 March 1988 to 1 July 2002

Jaswant Sinha 1 July 2002 to 22 May 2004

P. Chidambaram 23 May 2004 to 30 November 2008

Manmohan Singh 30 November 2008 to 24 January 2009

Pranab Mukherjee 24 January 2009 to 26 June 2012

Manmohan Singh 26 June 2012 to 31 July 2012

P. Chidambaram 31 July 2012 to 26 May 2014

Arun Jaitley 26 May 2014 to 30 May 2019

Nirmala Sitharaman 31 May 2019 to Incumbent