

गृह मंत्रालय MINISTRY OF **HOME AFFAIRS**

List of Home Ministers Of India from 1947 to 2022 [PDF]

List Of Home Minister Of India From 1947 To 2022

SR. NO.	HOME MINISTER OF INDIA	TENURE	POLITICAL PARTY
1.	Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel	15 August 1947 – 12 December 1950	Indian National Congress
2.	Jawaharlal Nehru	12 December 1950 – 26 December 1950	Indian National Congress

3.	C. Rajagopalachari	26 December 1950 – 5 November 1951	Indian National Congress
4.	Kailash Nath Katju	5 November 1951 – 10 January 1955	Indian National Congress
5.	Govind Ballabh Pant	10 January 1955 – 25 February 1961	Indian National Congress
6.	Lal Bahadur Shastri	25 February 1961 – 1 September 1963	Indian National Congress
7.	Gulzarilal Nanda	1 September 1963 – 9 November 1966	Indian National Congress
8.	Indira Gandhi	9 November 1966 – 13 November 1966	Indian National Congress
9.	Yashwantrao Chavan	13 November 1966 – 27 June 1970	Indian National Congress
10.	Indira Gandhi	27 June 1970 – 5 February 1973	Indian National Congress

11.	Uma Shankar Dikshit	5 February 1973 – 10 October 1974	Indian National Congress
12.	Kasu Brahmananda Reddy	10 October 1974 – 24 March 1977	Indian National Congress
13.	Chaudhary Charan Singh	24 March 1977 – 1 July 1978	Janata Party
14.	Morarji Desai	1 July 1978 – 24 January 1979	Janata Party
15.	Hirubhai M. Patel	24 January 1979 – 28 July 1979	Janata Party
16.	Yashwantrao Chavan	28 July 1979 – 14 January 1980	Indian National Congress (U)
17.	Giani Zail Singh	14 January 1980 – 22 June 1982	Indian National Congress
18.	Ramaswamy Venkataraman	22 June 1982 – 2 September 1982	Indian National Congress

19.	Prakash Chandra Sethi	2 September 1982 – 19 July 1984	Indian National Congress
20.	P. V. Narasimha Rao	19 July 1984 – 31 December 1984	Indian National Congress
21.	Shankarrao Chavan	31 December 1984 – 12 March 1986	Indian National Congress
22.	P. V. Narasimha Rao	12 March 1986 – 12 May 1986	Indian National Congress
23.	Sardar Buta Singh	12 May 1986 – 2 December 1989	Indian National Congress
24.	Mufti Mohammad Sayeed	2 December 1989 – 10 November 1990	Janata Dal
25.	Chandra Shekhar Singh	10 November 1990 – 21 June 1991	Samajwadi Janata Party
26.	Shankarrao Chavan	21 June 1991 – 16 May 1996	Indian National Congress

27.	Murli Manohar Joshi	16 May 1996 – 1 June 1996	Bharatiya Janata Party
28.	H. D. Deve Gowda	1 June 1996 – 29 June 1996	Janata Dal
29.	Indrajit Gupta	29 June 1996 – 19 March 1998	Communist Party of India
30.	Lal Krishna Advani	19 March 1998 – 22 May 2004	Bharatiya Janata Party
31.	Shivraj Patil	22 May 2004 – 30 November 2008	Indian National Congress
32.	P. Chidambaram	30 November 2008 – 31 July 2012	Indian National Congress
33.	Sushilkumar Shinde	31 July 2012 – 26 May 2014	Indian National Congress
34.	Rajnath Singh	26 May 2014 – 30 May 2019	Bharatiya Janata Party

35.	Amit Shah	30 May 2019 – Incumbent	Bharatiya Janata
			Party